Apparently, I like collars!

All part of the attempt to look grown-up and be taken seriously. Obviously, a collar is crucial for such an endeavour. Don’tcha think? And, as surveys have shown, two out of two shrill caramel finished knits sport dashing collars. Soon you will too, I swear. You may think you can resist my nonchalant collar-flashing, but you know you can’t hold out for long.

Finito.
Mmmm collar… I want you…

Despite being potentially an utterly useless item (a heavy wool jacket with three-quarter length sleeves? Impractical in both warm and cold weather!), I fly in the face of practicality. Give me pretty, I say! Who needs sensible?

Ok, the deets:

Pattern: Jess by Anna Bell at My Fashionable Life.
Yarn: Rowan Pure Wool DK in Indigo, 10 and a half balls.
Needles: 8 mm (speedy speedy!)
Notes: I followed the pattern exactly, except for adding a tiny bit of length in the body. Otherwise, pretty much to the letter. Very clear and easy to follow, too. I’ve already got my eye on some more of her designs (’cause I want a fashionable life too, natch). My only complaint with this one is that the collar absolutely refuses to stay turned down because it starts too low on the back. If I’m ever feeling really virtuous, I’d rip it out and fix this, but the chances are slim.

The collar that won't lay flat
You may place nice in photos, collar, but I know your unruly ways!

In other lessons learned, it seems my spatial relations are way off, leading to “interesting” buttonhole spacing. Some might even say “wonky” (you can see what I mean in the top photo, but of course you are much too nice to notice such things).

From this angle, they almost look even...

From this angle, they look almost even. But they ain’t foolin’ no one.

4 Responses to “Apparently, I like collars!”


  1. 1 frillbow March 19, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I’m all for impracticality in handknits! It looks great, and will surely be just the thing for a cool evening.

  2. 2 Alyssa March 19, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I love it and the collar!

  3. 3 Dee March 21, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    absolutely lovely! the colour and texture is what makes it so chic! well done!

  4. 4 Meghan March 22, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Claire, thanks for the comment. I’ll get to work this weekend! although I’m very excited about my new sweater, I think I’m even more excited to see if anyone else knits one. Take care, and I look forward to seeing your future projects!


Leave a Reply

