Lookit! I made something!

Or more to the point, I finished something. There’s been lots of starting and putting down, lots of getting distracted by newer, shinier things, and not so much with the following through. But no more! Today, I am a bona fide finisher. And I got a little snap happy in the documentation of said fact, so, good readers, allow me to take you on a visual detour…

Cabletastic!

Pattern: Twisted Flower socks by Cookie A.
Yarn: Louet Gems Fingering Weight in “Goldilocks”, less than 2 skeins.
Needles: 2.5mm
Notes: I didn’t make any modifications whatsoever, because, well, I’m not completely insane. Seriously, this pattern is complicated enough as is – I am in no way brave enough to go messing with it further. Plus why would I? It doesn’t exactly need any improvements. Although if I were to knit it again (which I highly doubt – I’ve had my fill of microscopic cables for the foreseeable future) I might add an extra repeat or something to the leg, because I ended up with a decent amount of yarn left over.

Ooooh, aren't you a fancy heel!
Even the heel is fancy. Oh to have her (or any) designing skills… Sigh.

Cabletastic!
A back view, for good measure. Hmmm, I could certainly use some fake tan…

I have a sneaking feeling that I’m going to be afraid to actually wear these, and that they’ll just sit in my drawer for ages, for me to furtively gaze at every now and then. Maybe even put on a little puppet show with… But really, what do you do with socks that are fancier than you are? They make me feel positively plebeian by comparison.

Cabletastic!

I’m just being indulgent at this point, it’s true. But come on… They’re yellow! And fancy!

Cabletastic!

Go on, knit yourself some. You know you want to.

.

12 Responses to “Lookit! I made something!”


  1. 1 frillbow April 24, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    These are stunning! I think you may need to frame them!

  2. 2 Alyssa April 24, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I LOOOOVE those socks! Yellow was a nice choice!

  3. 3 Denise April 24, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    They’re beautiful!!!! Don’t you just love Cookie A. patterns.

  4. 4 DeLaina April 24, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Absolutely amazing socks. You do beautiful work.

  5. 5 Bron April 24, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    They’re gorgeous! Absolutely beautiful. Don’t neglect them and not wear them – flaunt them every chance you get!

  6. 6 Elin April 25, 2008 at 12:33 am

    So beautiful! That’s it, I need these socks in yellow. And you know, I’d probably be too scared to wear them too.

  7. 7 Irene April 25, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    What elegance, what patience, what a colour! Well done!!!

  8. 8 Terry April 25, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Your socks came out beautifully! I love them. I’m not a yellow person but your socks changed me 🙂 I know one thing, you’ve inspired me to make these soon. You gotta wear them, at least to admire your fantastic knitting work!

  9. 9 Jagienka April 26, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Oh, pretty!

    I’m half way through my TF Socs in orange ;o) Another citrus coming right up!

  10. 10 Wanett April 27, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Those are amazing! The color really suites it as well. Great work!

    I totally hear you on the fancy thing too. I always think that when I look at a really fancy knit. It’s like what the hell would I wear with that and where would I go in it.

  11. 11 Wendy July 15, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    These are absolutely beautiful! I just ordered my pattern and I can’t wait to start on them.


  1. 1 Twisted | BY ELIN Trackback on October 24, 2008 at 12:32 am

Leave a Reply

