Sunday = Funday

As a child, I hated Sundays because nothing ever happened and it was such a lazy day. Now I adore them for precisely that reason. I’m not religious in the least, but that whole “day-of-rest” concept has a lot going for it. Today has been just the right sort of Sunday so far. I went out for a delicious brunch (in a yummy vegetarian restaurant that played Prince songs the entire time we were there – odd Sunday morning soundtrack, but fabulous we decided), then wandered around aimlessly for a while with my sister. This involved (as it tends to with peculiar frequency) us testing out different couches in Habitat (with no intention of buying, we just like to check their comfort levels from time to time) and getting angry looks from the shop assistant. C’mon lady, chill out, we don’t look that scruffy and we weren’t about to scribble on the upholstery in pink marker or anything.

After this sojourn I came home and decided to do something I have been putting off for no good reason, and I finished my handspun scarf (the one I should have finished ages ago).

At least it'll keep me from getting lost in a crowd

It’s a complete hotch-potch of colours, but I kind of like it. If nothing else, it should make me easy to spot in a crowd. Which is something I strive for at all times.

At least it'll keep me from getting lost in a crowd

Pattern: No pattern for this one, it’s just a 1×1 rib over 39 stitches with a slipped-stitch edging. It measures about 6″ x 75″
Yarn: My handspun, spun from the Almost Solid Autumn Sampler from Spunky Eclectic, knit up on 4.5mm needles.

I knit this because I ended up with a pile of tiny skeins of handspun that I knew I could never really use for anything else, which is why the colour combination is like it is. Gotta work with what ya got, yo’.

At least it'll keep me from getting lost in a crowd

Of course the best part of all is that I finally got around to finishing it just as the weather starts getting warm and summery and I haven’t even been wearing a coat all week, nevermind a scarf. And that even if it suddenly gets cold again (which lets face it, is entirely likely) the scarf will in no way go with my coat which is purple. Yup. Practical knits, that’s what I’m all about. Maybe I’ll take to wearing scarves around the house, just ’cause I can. I hear scarves are the new slippers.

At least it'll keep me from getting lost in a crowd

.

7 Responses to “Sunday = Funday”


  1. 1 autumnblossomknits April 27, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    OMG! Your scarf is gorgeous, I love the colors!

  2. 2 LivM April 27, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I love your scarf, it’s realy nice!

  3. 3 Irene April 27, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    GASP! What beauty!!!

  4. 4 Elin April 27, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    I used to never like Sundays because it meant catching up on all the homework I hadn’t done earlier in the week.

    Your scarf is fabulous though. I love the crazy stripes.

  5. 5 cici April 28, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    what a beautiful scraf.. you have given me the incentive to cast on and get rid of some of my pile of my leftover skeins.

  6. 6 lekkercraft May 3, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I love the colors – those tiny skeins of handspun worked well for this. It’s really beautiful.

  7. 7 dampcityknits March 16, 2009 at 7:02 am

    The scarf is SO beautiful! I’m impressed you had that much handspun all in a similar gauge! Absolutely lovely colours.


Leave a Reply

