The Capelet Kind

I am developing a theory. It goes as follows: the world can be reasonably simply divided into two kinds of people – those who are “capelet” people, and those who aren’t. I, for better or worse, fall decidedly into the latter category. I can’t even wear high heels, how could I possibly pull off something so unnecessary (and therefore chic) as a capelet? I even hate the word. Capelet. Ugh.

So it surprised even me when, against all my instincts, I cast on for one. I’ll blame this on the accidental skein of laceweight malabrigo I received in the post (I ordered worsted and was sent laceweight by mistake – the right skein has since arrived, but I decided to keep the happy accident also). What else was I to do with a single skein of lace weight? Clearly, fate was conspiring to sneak a capelet into my wardrobe.

I hate saying

Pattern: Lace Capelet from Rainy Day Goods
Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in “Glazed Carrot”, less than one skein
Needles: 6 mm circs

I hate saying

Notes: My gauge was way off, so I cast on 140 stitches instead of the suggested 110, plus I worked an extra full pattern repeat before starting the decreases.

I hate saying

From now on, I want everything I wear to be knit out of this yarn. So what if I would look ever-so-slightly ridiculous in lacy, knitted “jeans”? My skin would be so happy I wouldn’t notice.

I hate saying

Against all odds, I actually like this. The amazing softness of the yarn probably has a lot to do with it. It feels insaaaanely good on, which is a quality I admire in a garment. And who doesn’t love a little useless shoulder decoration every now and then?

Oh and it took barely more than a day to knit, start to finish. Gotta love that.

.

8 Responses to “The Capelet Kind”


  1. 1 TheBon May 8, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    It looks absolutely stunning on you although I understand not being a capelet person!

  2. 2 Alyssa May 8, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Totally cute. I love the color.

    I wear a lot of heels my dear and I don’t know how to wear a capelet…you go!

  3. 3 melissa May 9, 2008 at 12:47 am

    that is just so pretty. i love your color choice!

  4. 4 mehlhouse May 9, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Hmm.. until I saw this capelet, I’d thought they were pretty odd things. I might actually make one now!

    Surprises of yarn are almost always good =]

  5. 5 wazzuki May 13, 2008 at 7:27 am

    that orange is so . . .*orange*. It looks fantastic.

  6. 6 Mary-Heather July 2, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Oh wow – it looks fantastic!! I love the whole outfit very much, actually. 🙂 Thanks for knitting the capelet!

  7. 7 beverly September 6, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    That is so fantastic! I love the color on you!!

  8. 8 finnyknits September 9, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    I now want this exact capelet. Such a great job. That color is fantastic.


Leave a Reply

