So, I lied.

But let’s just gloss over the whole ‘I-swear-I’ll-be-back-tomorrow-to-post-more’ promise, and reconcile ourselves with the fact that compared with the lengthy radio silence preceding the last post, an extra two or three days late for this one isn’t really so terrible. Plus, I have socks to show! Finished ones! Conveniently, I went a little nuts taking pictures of them so I’ll just post a pile of the photos here and that will get me off the hook of having to say anything interesting, right? ‘Kay awesome. It’s a deal.

happy feet

happy feet

happy feet

Pattern: Cozy Cable Socks by the Sailing Knitter
Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy in “In Vino Veritas”
Needles: 2.5mm plus 2mm for the heels and toes
Notes: No changes except for continuing the cable pattern down the heel flap, a la the Philistine’s lovely pair. Otherwise, great pattern, good times. They fit amazingly well, and I couldn’t be happier with how they turned out. Oh and Smooshy? Totally my new favourite sock yarn.

happy feet

happy feet

Looking over these pictures has taught me two things:
1. I like these socks.
And 2. My legs are horrifyingly pale, thanks to the rain-filled sunless excuse for a summer we had this year, and that they really have no place being exposed to you lovely people. If I weren’t morally opposed to fake tan*, these photos would really make me invest in some.

*Ahem. What I like to pass off as moral opposition may just be my pathetic inability to actually apply the stuff and still look human, but given the choice between admitting this and taking the moral high-ground, well, no contest, right?

9 Responses to “So, I lied.”


  1. 2 sandra October 17, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    these socks are just sublime! and what a fab’ colour! 🙂

  2. 3 preita October 17, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    BEAUTIFUL! Nice color, pattern combo!

  3. 5 lynette October 18, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    your socks are lovely. i made a pair of cably-goodness socks in that colorway too. doesn’t the color just suck you in? 🙂

  4. 6 Ljolja October 19, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Hi,

    stumbled upon you blog a couple of days ago and admire your knitting and photography. These socks are lovely and worth waiting one or two days longer.

  5. 7 Julie October 21, 2008 at 2:05 am

    Awesome socks! And I love the colour.

    – Julie

  6. 8 melissa October 22, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    hello! i stumbled across your blog via ravelry, and just wanted to say how lovely your socks are. that color is unbelievably pretty!

  7. 9 FiberArtCafe October 28, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Hi,

    I love your socks. Do you find the cable pattern you have on the side of your socks comfortable in shoes? Just interested. 🙂

    Susan


Leave a Reply

